The Sunshine Bloggers Award

sun-clipart-biyeprzgt

 

Muchas gracias to Vivid Narrator for this blog award! Go give her blog a read!

 

The rules for the award-
Thank the person who nominated you.
Answer the questions from your nominators.
Nominate eleven other bloggers and give them eleven questions.

 

What was one prime reason for starting your blog?

I wanted to improve my writing skills, and experiment with different ways of writing blog posts. With my own blog I have more control than if I just submitted things to online magazines, or my old university’s media outlets. Writing has always been a hobby!

Your favorite food?

Oo. When I was a child it was sausages. Nowadays I’m not sure. Maybe potatoes…? There are many different ways to cook them. And I am a total carb lover. Toast too, toast is always good.

Is there any book/ film/ TV show that changed your perspective towards life?

I love a book that when you finish you can just breathe “wow…” to yourself! I think maybe The Phantom of the Opera helped me to step away from (secretly) loving cliches. I love the musical (and even the film adaption), but it turns the Phantom into a romantic Byronic hero. Whereas in the original novel he’s abhorrent. Plus Christine is silly, and Raul is plain wet. And yet it is still a tragic story. I can treasure the novel even though it doesn’t play to our human desires for likable main characters. You see beyond that and understand their flaws on a deeper level. I was 15 years old when I first read the novel, expecting a Hollywoodesque story line and instead I matured as a reader and lover of literature (which is arguably my life).

Your favorite travel destination?

Tough one. One I’ve visited in the past? Well within the UK I would love to return to my lovely London again, or to see Whitby in all its gothic seaside majesty. I am super keen to travel around Italy again – it has history, scenery, the people and of course the food. I am also hoping to visit Chicago and Prague again, I loved those (very different) cities!

One Hollywood star who you think needs a serious style check?

God, who even are they these days? I’ve lost track… Lady Gaga has calmed down hasn’t she? Maybe Miley Cyrus…? She just annoys me with her desperate bids to appear ‘rebellious’. Also includes her clothes.

Blogging or shopping? what do you enjoy more?

Blogging! I hate shopping, I can only stand it for a short while before I want to hide away from shops forever. Plus I’m a total cheapskate with money, which puts a dampener on shopping.

Subject you hated in school?

I could never learn to enjoy physics. Biology and chemistry I was okay with, but physics confused me a lot.

One phone app that you cant live without?

Probably Instagram, if I can use Facebook on the computer. I never thought I would enjoy Instagram, I thought it was horribly fake, but here I am now using it and I love it.

Favorite day of the week?

Friiiidaaaaay! Everyone always seems to be in a good mood on Fridays. And Saturdays, because it feels like I can do anything I want on Saturdays.

Social networking site on which you are most active?

Hm… I go on Facebook a lot but I rarely post or comment, sometimes I like things. I’ve been tweeting more often than I used to. I’m one of those people who takes a back seat on social media, but I’m still there.

One change you think you can bring to the world or people around you?

I think I can often offer a bit of perspective…? I guess I’m a very laid back person, at least compared to others. I tend to view things with a step back, rather than being caught in the middle. So when everyone around me are losing their heads I can sit them down, calm them, and help them realise that things aren’t as catastrophic as they think. And I think the world needs less drama queens blowing things out of proportion!

 

In turn I nominate…..

  1. Tapas and Travels
  2. Como Perderse En Espana
  3. Sophia’s Ramblings
  4. What Would Sophie Do
  5. Sarah’s Bookshelf
  6. Adventure Cass
  7. Sadies Been There
  8. That Samantha Girl
  9. Been There, Seen That, Got the Postcard
  10. Globe Trotting
  11. Wanderlust: Becoming a Traveler

 

My questions:

  1. Would you rather explore the depths of the ocean or space?
  2. What is your favourite aspect of blogging?
  3. Where is your next travel destination?
  4. What quote inspires you a lot?
  5. What was the last thing you ate?
  6. Is there somebody you miss right now?
  7. What object do you own that has a lot of sentimental value for you?
  8. What is a personal style essential of yours?
  9. Do you prefer coffee or tea?
  10. As a child, what did you want to be when you grew up?
  11. What’s your opinion of hipsters?

Posted

in

by

Comments

4 responses to “The Sunshine Bloggers Award”

  1. enigmaticnarrator Avatar

    I love reading yours..I am stunned to know that you don’t like shopping. I thought it ll be a tough question for any girl to answer 😉

    1. eleanorrosem Avatar

      Haha no, I have to be awkward! I even got my mum to help me find graduation shoes simply because I knew on my own I would rush the process and end up with some cheap, uncomfortable shoes xD Ah adulthood…

  2. Lorial Roballo Avatar

    This is going to be so much fun! Thank you Eleanor

  3. […] to Eleanor at Inside a Mind for nominating me! The rules […]

Leave a comment